The Spirit-Filled Life Of Holiness

It is essential not to underestimate the importance of being constantly filled with the Holy Spirit. The Apostle Paul put it this way, when he wrote :

“And do not be drunk with wine, in which is dissipation (an undisciplined lifestyle,) BUT BE FILLED WITH THE (HOLY) SPIRIT . . ” Ephesians 5:18 NKJV (emphasis mine).

The language Paul used here in the Greek, refers to a continuous, on-going experience. In other words, he essentially said to be ALWAYS filled with the Holy Spirit.

You may ask: How do you do that? The answer is: You simply ask God to fill you afresh with the Holy Spirit, and then immediately thank Him for doing it. Then keep doing that from time to time throughout your day.

Often I just say, “Father, Your Word says, ‘Be filled with the Holy Spirit,’ and I just thank You for doing that right now.”  Then I begin praising God, and immediately I can sense the fullness of the Holy Spirit within me. Try it, and discover what you experience when you do this. I do it several times each day.

Now to many believers the image they have in their minds of the fullness of the Holy Spirit is like a glass full of water. However, this is not the image that the Lord Jesus gave us. In fact, we read:

“On the last day, that great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried out, saying, ‘If anyone thirsts, let him come to Me and drink. He who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said, out of his heart will flow RIVERS OF LIVING WATER.’ This He spoke of the Spirit, whom those believing in Him would receive; for the Holy Spirit was not yet given, because Jesus was not yet glorified.” John7:37-39 NKJV (emphasis mine).

If you were to use the glass image in the same way Jesus describes in this passage,  you would place it under an open tap until the water filled the glass and spilled out over the top. That is the image Jesus gave of the Holy Spirit in us!

In the natural, a dam full of water will not generate any power until the sluice gates are opened and the water begins to flow. The flowing water generates the power! The same is true with the overflow of the Holy Spirit.

Simply put: When the Holy Spirit flows, His power and anointing flows out of you.

Now one of the major reasons the Holy Spirit was given to you was that you might have power. Jesus put it this way, when He said:

“But you shall receive POWER when the Holy Spirit has come upon you. .”
Acts 1:8 NKJV (emphasis mine).

If you have the Holy Spirit, then you have power. It is the power to do what God wants you to do, and the power to defeat the enemy. It is also the power to live a holy life. Don’t try to live a holy life in your own strength; learn to depend on the power of the Holy Spirit!

Many believers get filled with the Holy Spirit and never seek to be filled again. It is important to maintain the fullness of the Holy Spirit in your life, and walk in His fullness every day. As you do this more and more, you will become more aware of His presence, and learn to distinguish His voice in your spirit. Soon He will become a dear, constant companion to you, and He will help you to live a holy life.

Even more than that, the Holy Spirit will quicken the Word of God to your heart,  giving you revelation from the Word that will help you grow up in Him.

Here is what the Apostle John wrote about the anointing of the Holy Spirit in you:

“But the anointing (of the Holy Spirit) which you have received from Him abides in you, and you do not need anyone to teach you; but as THE SAME ANOINTING TEACHES YOU CONCERNING ALL THINGS, and is true, and is not a lie, and just as it has taught you, you will abide in Him.” 1 John 2:27 NKJV (emphasis mine).

How does He teach you? He quickens the Word of God to your heart and opens up your understanding. In other words, you will see and understand things in the
Word of God that you have never seen or understood before. In fact, everything I know about holiness was taught to me by the Holy Spirit. He will teach you, too!

You are holy, dear saint!

This is Day Eight of a 31 -day devotional. Next week we will look at: “Praying In The Holy Spirit.”

Here is a prayer that you can use to get you started each day in your life of holiness:

The Daily Prayer Of A Saint

Father, I thank You for this new day that I can worship You in the beauty of holiness.

Your Word says, “This is the day the day the Lord has made, we will rejoice and be glad in it.” Therefore, I start this day with joy, by rejoicing in You.

This morning I thank You that I am a new creation in Christ The old things of yesterday have passed away, and all things have become new.

Father, I thank You that, because I am in Christ I am holy. I am not of this world, for I am of God. God is my Father, Jesus is my Lord and Savior, and my body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who dwells within me. In fact, I know that my body is a holy dwelling place of God through the Holy Spirit.

I ask You to cleanse me from every iniquity and every stain. Wash me and cleanse me with the precious blood of the Lord Jesus Christ. Now I stand before You spotless, pure, clean and glistening white.

I am full of the Holy Spirit, and I am led by the Holy Spirit everywhere I go. I know His voice, and I will seek to obey His voice in everything I do.

I thank You that I am a bright, shining light of Your glory to everyone I meet today.

In Jesus’ mighty name. Amen.

(Note: You can use this prayer to develop your own prayer to start your day of holiness)

Leave a Reply

