Speak Evil Of No Man

Isn’t it amazing that God has called you one of His saints – someone who is holy? For those who want to live the life of a saint that is truly worthy of the calling, it is important to watch the words of your mouth. It is true when it comes to blessing others, instead of cursing them. It is also true concerning everything else we say about others. God wants us to speak evil of no man!

The Apostle Paul wrote these words to one of his “sons” in the faith:

“Remind them to be subject to rulers and authorities, to obey, to be ready for every good work, TO SPEAK EVIL OF NO ONE, to be peaceable, gentle, showing humility to all men.” Titus 3:1-2 NKJV (emphasis mine).

Many years ago, I felt a great stirring in my heart when I was meditating on this passage of Scripture. I felt challenged in my spirit to make a decision that day that, from day forward, I would speak evil of no one (the KJV reads: “of no man”).

Raising one hand to the Lord, in a solemn oath, I said, “Father, from this day forward I will speak evil of no man.” by saying that, I just resolved in my spirit that I would speak evil of no one else from that day forward. And I thought that it was a “done deal”, as they say.

Whenever you make a declaration like that before the Lord, He takes it very seriously. Believe me, He will judge you from the words of your mouth!

A few days later, I was visiting a Pastor in another city, and had a great time of fellowship together with him. During the course of our conversation, three times he mentioned the name of a minister I had heard about, but never met. Each time I mentioned something negative about that minister, that someone had told me about him. To my shame, each time this Pastor told me something he really appreciated about that man of God.

After hanging my head the third time, feeling ashamed that I had said something negative about another minister I hadn’t even met, when this dear Pastor had nothing but good things to say about him, the Holy Spirit spoke to me. He told me that He had orchestrated that whole conversation to show me how much I spoke evil of other ministers, when I didn’t even realize I was doing it. Again I bowed my head and repented right on the spot and vowed I would do my best never to do it again.

As a result, over the years I have kept a watch over my mouth, and I have been very careful of what I said about other ministers. When I did miss it, I was quick to repent, and I made every effort to also say what I appreciated about that particular minister. Then the Holy Spirit taught me more. He began to apply that same principle to every person I spoke about – not only other saints, but those in the world!

If you have made the Holy Spirit your teacher, then He will teach you, too. In fact you will discover that He will help you with everything you say out of your mouth. This is how He helps us perfect the holiness of God in our lives! This is why the Apostle Paul wrote:

“Therefore having these promises, beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, PERFECTING HOLINESS IN THE FEAR OF GOD.” 2 Corinthians 7:1 NKJV (emphasis mine).

Now if you think that this was only written once in the Bible, you will be interested to know that the Apostle James wrote the same thing in his letter. He wrote:

“Do not speak evil of one another, brethren.” James 4:11

Did you know that when you speak evil of someone else, and put them down, it grieves the Holy Spirit? This also true when you malign other people and call them names. Notice what the Apostle Paul had to say about this, when he wrote:

“Let no corrupt word proceed out your mouth, but what is good for necessary edification, that it may impart grace to the hearers. And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Let all bitterness, wrath, anger, clamor, AND EVIL SPEAKING (of others) be put away from you, with all malice.” Ephesians 4:29-32 NKJV (emphasis mine).

Yes, Paul was speaking of the same thing when he wrote these words, and he warned that this is how you can grieve the Holy Spirit. In fact, most people don’t realize that it is pride that causes them to put other people down. They don’t realized that by speaking evil of others, their pride is exalting them over others by putting them down. This is why it grieves the Holy Spirit so much. This is also why you need to always watch the words of your mouth. As you can see, this is also how you bless others, instead of cursing them with your words. Does that make sense to you?

Over the years I have asked the Holy Spirit to teach me about holiness, and humility, and the fear of the Lord. I soon realized that in order to understand humility, I had to also understand pride, and the Holy Spirit has taught me how to recognize pride in my life. Yes, even though I am careful to live a humble life before the Lord, I know that pride can raise its ugly head at any moment. By knowing how to recognize pride, I can stop it, before I ever open my mouth.

When it comes to pleasing God, He wants us to be quick to repent, and quick to humble ourselves before Him – and before other people! As the Apostle Paul wrote to Titus, God wants us “to show humility to all men.” How can you do this? By guarding the words of your mouth, and being careful not to speak evil of anyone.

 

You are holy, dear saint!

Next week we will look at: Walking In The Fear Of The Lord.

Steve Smith

This is Day Twelve of a series on The Life of A Saint, a 31-day devotional.

Leave a Reply

