Godly Saints

As I studied holiness throughout the Scriptures, I came across a word the Apostle Paul used frequently in his later letters.  It was the word “godliness.” I felt that I should also teach on this aspect of the life of a saint, but I wasn’t sure how to tie it all together with what the Holy Spirit had taught me on holiness.   I wanted to link the two together, but I didn’t know how.  I needed the Holy Spirit to open up my understanding and show me how to present this in my teaching.
I love it when the Holy Spirit teaches me things.  He brings enlightenment to my understanding, and I see things clearly in the Scriptures.  The Scripture He quickened to me is found in Paul’s letter to his spiritual son Titus.  Like Timothy, Titus was raised up under the ministry of the Apostle Paul, and seemed to minister under apostolic authority, although I cannot find a verse which specifically calls him an Apostle.
Here is what the Apostle Paul wrote to him:
“For the grace of God that brings salvation has appeared to all men, teaching us that, denying ungodliness and WORLDLY lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and GODLY in the present age” (Titus 2:11-12 NKJV, emphases mine).
Simply put, godliness is the opposite of worldliness.  If you belong to Christ you are no longer of the world, you are of God.  This means that we should no longer be worldly, acting like the world, but godly, showing the nature of God in our lives.
When you came to Christ, the Holy Spirit set you apart from the world and placed you in Christ.  Now, even though you are in the world, you are not of the world, just as Jesus said:
“They are not of the world, even as I am not of this world” (John 17:16 NKJV).
You are no longer of the world, you are of God.  This means you are no longer a worldly person, but a godly saint – someone who displays the person and nature of God!  Isn’t that exciting?
Now the Apostle Peter had something wonderful to say about godliness.  He wrote:
“Grace and peace be multiplied to you in the knowledge of God and of Jesus Christ our Lord, as His divine power has given to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of Him who called us by glory and virtue, by which have been given to us exceedingly great and precious promises, that through these you may be partakers of the Divine nature, having  escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust” (2 Peter 1:2-4 NKJV).
When you were set apart from the world, you escaped the corruption that is in the world through the lust for various things that are not of God.  Now we are partakers of God’s divine nature.  We are children of God, with His divine nature in us.  Paul called us “a new creation.”  This means you have in essence God’s DNA in you!  Isn’t that amazing?
Now, as a godly saint, you need to see yourself in an entirely new light.  No longer are you defined by the values and desires of the world, you are defined solely by who you are in Christ.
You are holy,  dear saint!
Steve Smith
[All Scripture quotations are taken from The Hol y Bible,  New King James Version, copyright 1982, Thomas Nelson Inc.]

 

Leave a Reply

