Your Father’s Eyes

When a baby is a newborn, people are quick to point out the similarities of the baby with his or her parents.  “Oh look, he has his father’s chin,” one person might exclaim.  Another may say, “Well, she definitely has her mother’s eyes.”  We naturally expect a child to have the characteristics of its parent, don’t we?
In the same way, as a child of God, you should also have the characteristics of your heavenly Father.   When people look at you, they should see the features of your spiritual parent in you.  Don’t you agree?
In this series I have emphasized the holiness of God.  You are holy, because He is holy.  This is the reason we live a holy life before Him.  As His children, we act just like Him.  The Apostle Paul put it this way:
“Therefore be imitators of God as dear children” (Ephesians 5:1 NKJV).
Have you ever noticed how little children love to imitate their parents?  Often they will try to wear their shoes, or try to wear the parent’s hat.  In the same way they often imitate they way their parents act or talk.  We think it is so cute to see them do this (I laugh every time I see my grandson try to walk in my shoes).
God is not only holy, but the Apostle John wrote this about Him:
“He who does not love does not know God, for GOD IS LOVE” (1 John 4:8 NKJV, emphasis mine).
God is love, just as much as He is holy.  If you have been born of God, then you have been born of love, and you have the nature of love in you. This is the image you should have of yourself.  When you look in the mirror, you should see love.  You should look just like your Father!
If your heavenly Father is love, then you are love also, because you have His nature inside of you.  In fact you can say with perfect confidence, “I am love, because God is love.  I have His nature in me!”
If you know that you are love, then go back to the Love Chapter, in 1 Corinthians chapter thirteen.  Now read it this way:
“I suffer long and I am kind. I do not envy, I do not parade myself, and I am not puffed up.  I do not behave rudely, I do not seek my own way, I am not easily  provoked, and I do not think evil of others.  I do not rejoice in iniquity, but I rejoice in the truth. I bear all things, believe all things, hope all things, and endure all things.  I never fail to walk in love toward others” (see 1 Corinthians 13:4-8).
If you are love, as God is love, then this is the way you will act toward every person you meet.  This is the nature of your heavenly Father in you.  You are a child of love!  When people look into your eyes, all they should see is love, because you have your Father’s eyes.
You are holy, dear saint!
[All Scripture quotations have been taken from The Holy Bible, New King James Version, copyright 1982, Thomas Nelson Inc.]
Leave a Reply

