Put the Word First

One of the characteristics of Godly saints is that they seem to have their nose in the Bible all the time.  Have you known anyone like that?

When I was a teenager, my parents encouraged me to read my Bible. They rewarded me for reading through the New Testament.  Then they rewarded me for reading several times through the Book of Proverbs. Somewhere in the middle of reading through the Old Testament, I developed such a hunger for the Word of God that I didn’t want any more rewards for reading my Bible. I actually felt an ache for the Word of God in my spirit. Since that day, I have never lost my hunger for God’s Word. The prophet Jeremiah wrote:

“Your words were found, and I ate them, and Your word was to me the joy and rejoicing of my heart; for I am called by Your name, O Lord of hosts” (Jeremiah 15:16 NKJV).

By reading the Word and meditating on it, I learned to feed on God’s Word. I soon discovered I was feeding my spirit. That is why I felt an ache deep in the pit of my stomach the more I read the Word. Jesus said:

“Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God” (Matthew 4:4 NKJV).

The more I fed on God’s Word, the stronger I became spiritually.  If you want to be a stronger believer, let me encourage you to put the Word of God first in your life, and feed on it regularly every day. You will be amazed at how strong your faith will become!

You are holy, dear saint!

Steve Smith

Please keep me in your prayers this week. I am in Cuba ministering to the Churches and Pastors in that country.

[All Scripture quotations have been taken from The Holy Bible, New King James Version, copyright 1982, Thomas Nelson, Inc.]

 

Leave a Reply

