Develop A Great Prayer Life

One of the marks of a godly saint is that he or she will be a person of prayer. As a young believer I was deeply impressed by the lives of people who had a great prayer life. I wanted to be like that!

As I grew older I began seeking to develop a deeper walk with God. It was then that the Holy Spirit quickened this verse to me:

“Pray without ceasing” (1 Thessalonians 5:17 NKJV).

Those three words made such an impression on my spirit. I wanted to put the practice of prayer into my life! Day to day while in high school, I shared many moments of my day with the Lord. I would ask Him for help with everything I did.  I spent a great amount of my day praising God and thanking Him for everything He did for me. The next verse in our Scripture passage reads:

“In everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you” (1 Thessalonians 5:18 NKJV). 

These were just a couple of the things which the Holy Spirit taught me about developing a life of prayer.  You can develop these things in your life as well, if you also desire to have a deeper walk with God.

You are holy. dear saint!

Steve Smith

Please pray for me, as I return to Cuba for a two-week Missions trip.

[All Scripture quotations have been taken from the Holy Bible, New King James Version, copyright 1982, Thomas Nelson Inc.]

Leave a Reply

