Discover the Holy Spirit

When I was a young man, the call of God came upon my life to preach the Gospel. My immediate reaction was: How on earth am I going to do that? I felt that I had no natural ability to stand before people and give a speech.  More importantly, I had no idea how win people to Christ. This call filled my mind with so many questions, so I decided to read about the lives of great men and women of God. I wanted to learn their secret. I wanted to know where they got the ability to preach the Word of God!

As I read about great men of God like: John Wesley, D.L. Moody, Charles Spurgeon and Charles Finney, I noticed that each one of these men attributed their ability to the person of the Holy Spirit. This created a great hunger in me to know the Holy Spirit for myself, so I began to search through the Word of God to learn more about this person of the Godhead. In Paul’s letter to the Ephesians, I read:

“And do not be drunk with wine, in which is dissipation (excessiveness); but be filled with the Holy Spirit” (Ephesians 5:18 NKJV, words in parentheses mine).

This is what I needed – I needed to be filled with the Holy Spirit! I believed that the answer was to simply ask God to do it. Jesus said:

“If you ask anything in My name, I will do it (John 14:14 NKJV).

In a simple act of faith, I asked God to fill me with the Holy Spirit, and I believed that He did.

It seemed as if others sensed the call of God on my life, because I was asked to give a message to my young people’s group. I felt a great measure of trepidation about doing it, but I also had a great confidence in the Holy Spirit to help me.  The night came, and a wonderful presence of God seemed to come into the room.  The other young people had never felt that before.  The youth leader also was amazed at the presence of God. It was the start of my relationship with the Holy Spirit.

If you want a deeper relationship with the Holy Spirit, let me encourage you to ask God to fill you with His presence today. The more time you spend with Him the stronger your relationship will become.

You are holy, dear saint!

Steve Smith

P.S. Thank you for your prayers, as I continue my trip in Cuba.

[All Scripture quotations have been taken from The Holy Bible, New King James Version, copyright 1982, Thomas Nelson, Inc.]

Leave a Reply

