Pictures From Heaven

“Let’s take a moment to thank God for His healing power.”

My wife and I had been sitting in our living room when a couple suddenly showed up at our door. We were happy to see them, so we invited them inside. We no sooner sat down, when another couple came. As we sat together and began chatting with one another. I stayed out of the conversation because I was sensing a stirring in my spirit. The Holy Spirit had brought us all together, and He wanted to do something. As I looked at one of the husbands, I sensed in my spirit that he needed healing. When I asked him about it, he said, “I have had a burning sensation in my stomach for over three weeks. I have taken every kind of antacid I can find to relieve the pain, but nothing has worked.” That was when I suggested that we all stand up and thank God for His healing power. It is His power that heals the sick, not how much we pray.

As we stood in a circle thanking God for His healing power, I could sense the presence of God coming upon us. Then the Lord gave me a picture: I saw myself praying for this man with my fist pressed against his stomach. When I came out of the vision, I said, “I believe that God has shown me what to do.” I then simply acted out what I had seen in the picture. I pressed my fist against his stomach and said, “I take authority over this burning sensation, in Jesus’ name, and I command it to go – right now!”

The man had a funny look on his face, so I said, “What happened?”

He didn’t respond, so I asked him again, “What happened to you?”

Again he didn’t respond, so I asked, “Why aren’t you answering me?”

He said, “I am afraid to say anything because I don’t want the pain to come back.” I laughed. Then he explained, “The moment you commanded the pain to go, it left instantly. I have had that burning pain for over three weeks and it has never stopped for a moment, but now it is completely gone.” Three weeks later I phoned him, and he said that it had never returned. God had completely healed him!

God not only speaks to us so that we can hear His voice, but he sometimes gives us pictures from Heaven. The Bible calls them visions. Jesus Himself depended completely on seeing these pictures in His ministry. He said:

Most assuredly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of Himself, but what He sees the Father do, for whatever the Father does, the Son also does in like manner.”  (John 5:19 NKJV)

It seems clear that Jesus would see a picture of how to minister to every person who needed healing. This would explain why He would often minister in different ways. He rarely ministered the same way twice. Sometimes He would say, “Rise up and walk.” Other times He would cast out an evil spirit first, or put mud in a person’s eyes. We can think of various ways that Jesus performed His miracles.

Jesus went on to say:

For the Father loves the Son, and shows Him all things that He Himself does; and He will show Him greater works than these, that you may marvel.” (John 5:20 NKJV)

This explains why Jesus was so successful in the way He ministered to each person – He saw what the Father wanted Him to do!

We can not only hear God’s voice, but we can also receive pictures like Jesus did. God will show us what to do through these pictures.

There are actually three basic ways that God reveals things to us: We can see something, hear something, or know something. Sometimes we may experience all three things at the same time. Look at what Ananias said to Saul about the different ways God was going to reveal things to him:

The God of our fathers has chosen you that you should know His will, and see the Just One, and hear the voice of His mouth.” (Acts 22:14 NKJV, words in emphasis mine.)  

You may ask: How can I see pictures of what God wants me to do? The answer is we need to ask God to show us what to do, and then take a moment to close our eyes and look to see what He is showing us. If we open ourselves up to receiving revelations from God, we will begin to experience them. Then we need to do exactly what we see in the picture. The more we obey God, the more pictures He will show us.

You are holy, dear saint!

Steve Smith

Has God ever revealed something to you by showing you a picture? Let me know in the comments below!

[All Scripture quotations have been taken from The Holy Bible, New King James Version, copyright 1982, Thomas Nelson Inc.]

 

Leave a Reply

